2017 Owasso Marching Invitational

Prelims Results
(View full recap here)

Class A
1. Berryhill H.S., OK
2. Skiatook H.S., OK
3. Morris H.S., OK
Music: Berryhill H.S., OK
Visual: Berryhill H.S., OK
GE: Berryhill H.S., OK

Class AA
1. Coweta H.S., OK
2. Lake Hamilton H.S., AR
3. Stillwater H.S., OK
Music: Lake Hamilton H.S., AR
Visual: Coweta H.S., OK
GE: Coweta H.S., OK

Class AAA
1. Bixby H.S., OK
2. Edmond Memorial H.S., OK
3. Rock Bridge H.S., MO
Music: Bixby H.S., OK
Visual: Bixby H.S., OK
GE: Bixby H.S., OK

Class AAAA
1. Union H.S., OK
2. Bentonville H.S., AR
3. Bryant H.S., AR
Music: Union H.S., OK
Visual: Union H.S., OK
GE: Union H.S., OK

Finals Results
(View full recap here)

1. (84.25) Union H.S., OK
2. (79.55) Bixby H.S., OK
3. (78.85) Coweta H.S., OK
4. (78.25) Bentonville H.S., AR
5. (73.85) Lake Hamilton H.S., AR
6. (71.95) Edmond Memorial H.S., OK
7. (66.95) Choctaw H.S., OK
8. (66.70) Southmoore H.S., OK
9. (64.00) Stillwater H.S., OK
10. (62.85) Rock Bridge H.S., MO
11. (62.80) Bryant H.S., AR
12. (59.85) Collinsville H.S., OK

Music: Union H.S., OK
Visual: Union H.S., OK
GE: Union H.S., OK

Returning 2016 Finalists (10)
1. Union H.S., OK
2. Bentonville H.S., AR
3. Bixby H.S., OK
5. Coweta H.S., OK
6. Edmond Memorial H.S., OK
8. Choctaw H.S., OK
9. Lake Hamilton H.S., AR
10. Stillwater H.S., OK
11. Collinsville H.S., OK
12. Tahlequah H.S., OK

Previous Champions
2016: Union H.S., OK
2015: Union H.S., OK
2014: Union H.S., OK
2013: Union H.S., OK
2012: Union H.S., OK
2011: Union H.S., OK

States Represented (3)
Arkansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma.

The 2017 Owasso Marching Invitational will be held Sept. 30 at Owasso High School. In 2016, Union won the competition, with Bentonville in second.

As usual, Union leads the pack at this event. Union has consistently placed in the top half of finals at the St. Louis Super Regional, and has made several appearances in Grand National Finals.

Union performs at the St. Louis Super Regional on Oct. 20, 2016, at The Dome at America's Center. // Photo by Jeremiah Wooten
We expect to see Bixby in the silver medal position. As the only school in attendance other than Union to make finals at a BOA event last year, Bixby seems to be a step ahead of the other groups. However, it’s not out of the question to see Bentonville make a push for second place. This is Bentonville’s first year with Tim Hendrix in the head director role, and he’ll certainly be looking to lead the band back to St. Louis finals. A good performance here, is a great step in that direction.

Outside of the top three, it’s a wide open competition. Returning finalists Coweta and Edmond Memorial will be looking to return to the top half of finals, while new bands like Rock Bridge will be looking to steal a finals spot from some of these returning finalists.

As our first look at several bands from Arkansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma, it’ll be an exciting day with some unexpected results.

Adjudication Panel
Shirl Chumley, Michael McIntosh, Dan Morrison, Andy Rein, Jeff Sacktig, Alan Sharps, and John Theisen.