2016 Conroe Regional

Prelims Results:
(view full recap here)

Class AAA
1. Friendswood H.S., TX
2. Waller H.S., TX
3. Colleyville Heritage H.S., TX

Music: Veterans Memorial H.S., TX
Visual: Friendswood H.S., TX
GE: Friendswood H.S., TX

Class AAAA
1. Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
2. Claudia Taylor Johnson H.S., TX
3. The Woodlands H.S., TX

Music: Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
Visual: Claudia Taylor Johnson H.S., TX
GE: Ronald Reagan H.S., TX

Finals Results:
(view full recap here)

1. (84.70) Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
2. (83.35) Claudia Taylor Johnson H.S., TX
3. (81.45) The Woodlands H.S., TX
4. (80.95) Hendrickson H.S., TX
5. (79.05) Winston Churchill H.S., TX
6. (75.65) T.W. College Park H.S., TX
7. (74.50) Cy-Fair H.S., TX
8. (74.15) James E. Taylor H.S., TX
9. (74.10) Oak Ridge H.S., TX
10. (73.90) Pearland H.S., TX

Music: Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
Visual: Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
GE: Ronald Reagan H.S., TX

Participating Bands (26):
Brazoswood H.S., TX
Cinco Ranch H.S., TX
Claudia Taylor Johnson H.S., TX
Colleyville Heritage H.S., TX
Cy-Fair H.S., TX
Cypress Creek H.S., TX
Dawson H.S., TX
Friendswood H.S., TX
Hendrickson H.S., TX
James E. Taylor H.S., TX
Katy H.S., TX
Klein Oak H.S., TX
Langham Creek H.S., TX
McNeil H.S., TX
Morton Ranch H.S., TX
Oak Ridge H.S., TX
Pearland H.S., TX
Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
Seven Lakes H.S., TX
The Woodlands College Park H.S., TX
The Woodlands H.S., TX
Timber Creek H.S., TX
Tompkins H.S., TX
Veterans Memorial H.S., TX
Waller H.S., TX
Winston Churchill H.S., TX

Returning 2015 Finalists (6):
1. Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
2. Claudia Taylor Johnson H.S., TX
7. Winston Churchill H.S., TX
8. Oak Ridge H.S., TX
9. Pearland H.S., TX
10. Brazoswood H.S., TX

*In 2015, The Woodlands qualified for finals, but were unable to perform because of a football game conflict.

Previous Champions:
2015: Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
2014: Claudia Taylor Johnson H.S., TX
2013: The Woodlands H.S., TX
2012: The Woodlands H.S., TX
2011: Marcus H.S., TX

States Represented (1):
Editor's note: On Nov. 5, 2016, at the San Antonio Super Regional, BOA announced corrections to these results. We have updated our results accordingly.

The 2016 Conroe Regional was held Oct. 1 at Woodforest Bank Stadium. Ronald Reagan retained the regional champion title, defeating Claudia Taylor Johnson and The Woodlands.

CTJ and The Woodlands held their second and third place spots from prelims to finals, with Hendrickson and Winston Churchill swapping fourth and fifth from prelims to finals.

Hendrickson earned fourth in finals and Churchill earned fifth in finals. Both groups also made finals earlier this season at the Austin Regional and are clearly in position to make finals at San Antonio.

At the top, three groups will be battling for the title: Claudia Taylor Johnson, Ronald Reagan, and The Woodlands. All three of these groups have consistently seen success at just about every event they attend and are no strangers to winning. After CTJ's third place finish last week, we think Ronald Reagan will grab the top spot here at Conroe followed closely by Johnson, with The Woodlands in third.

The rest of the top half we expect to include Hendrickson and Winston Churchill. Winston Churchill beat Hendrickson by 2.8 points in prelims and then by only 0.6 points in finals last weekend at Austin. We think Hendrickson will keep pushing and be able to take a step ahead of Churchill.

The bottom half will include several returning finalists: Brazoswood, Oak Ridge, and Pearland. While none of these groups are guaranteed a finals spot, the low number of returning finalists gives them a good chance.

Our last two in finals are James E. Taylor and The Woodlands College Park. While there are several other groups that could also grab these last two spots and have even beaten these two in the past, we think College Park and Taylor are in the best position to make finals. College Park made finals and placed third in 2014 at the Conroe Regional, so it's only logical to think they've learned from last year and are ready to return to finals. Taylor has been consistently just outside of finals and this could be the year they finally make the move into the night show.

Predictions represent the majority opinion of the HornRank staff.
1. Ronald Reagan H.S., TX
2. Claudia Taylor Johnson H.S., TX
3. The Woodlands H.S., TX
4. Hendrickson H.S., TX
5. Winston Churchill H.S., TX
6. Brazoswood H.S., TX
7. Oak Ridge H.S., TX
8. Pearland H.S., TX
9. The Woodlands College Park H.S., TX
10. James E. Taylor H.S., TX

Adjudication Panel
Music: George Boulden, Randy Greenwell, Paul McGarr, Mark Stone
Visual: Mike Anderson, Curtis Costanza, Ken Giese
Chief: Gary Markham