2017 Renegade Review

Prelims Results
(View full recap here)

Class AA
1. Grain Valley H.S., MO
2. Blue Valley H.S., KS
3. Stillwater H.S., OK
Music: Grain Valley H.S., MO
Visual: Grain Valley H.S., MO
GE: Grain Valley H.S., MO

Class AAA
1. Bixby H.S., OK
2. Kickapoo H.S., MO
3. Poteet H.S., TX
Music: Poteet H.S., TX
Visual: Bixby H.S., OK
GE: Bixby H.S., OK

Class AAAA
1. LD Bell H.S., TX
2. Blue Springs H.S., MO
3. Owasso H.S., OK
Music: LD Bell H.S., TX
Visual: Blue Springs H.S., MO
GE: LD Bell H.S., TX

Finals Results
(View full recap here)

1. (86.70) LD Bell H.S., TX
2. (86.15) Blue Springs H.S., MO
3. (83.15) Grain Valley H.S., MO
4. (82.65) Owasso H.S., OK
5. (82.00) Bentonville H.S., AR
6. (81.75) Jenks H.S., OK
7. (78.15) Bixby H.S., OK
8. (75.75) Stillwater H.S., OK
9. (75.65) Kickapoo H.S., MO
10. (75.35) Poteet H.S., TX
11. (74.60) Blue Valley H.S., KS
12. (70.25) Choctaw H.S., OK

Music: (tie) Blue Springs H.S., MO
and LD Bell H.S., TX
Visual: LD Bell H.S., TX
GE: (tie) Blue Springs H.S., MO
and LD Bell H.S., TX

Returning 2016 Finalists (8)
1. Owasso H.S., OK
2. Grain Valley H.S., MO
3. Jenks H.S., OK
4. Bixby H.S., OK
6. Kickapoo H.S., MO
7. Poteet H.S., TX
11. Choctaw H.S., OK
12. Blue Valley H.S., KS

Previous Champions
2016: Owasso H.S., OK
2015: Blue Springs H.S., MO
2014: Blue Springs H.S., MO
2013: Owasso H.S., OK
2012: Owasso H.S., OK
2011: Owasso H.S., OK

States Represented (5)
Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Texas.

The 2017 Renegade Review will be held Oct. 14 at Union High School. In 2016, Owasso was named champion of the competition with a solid margin of victory.

Blue Springs and LD Bell are the two groups that could walk away with the champion title. And for both groups, this competition could be a defining moment in their season. For Blue Springs, a solid victory could set them up to really challenge Broken Arrow at the St. Louis Super Regional and push to the top-half of finals at the Grand National Championships. For Bell, this is a chance to prove their performance at the Southlake Regional wasn’t a fluke and could set them up for a return to finals at the San Antonio Super Regional.

Blue Springs performs in exhibition at the Golden Regiment Invitational on Sept. 30, 2017, at Blue Springs High School. // Photo by Jeremiah Wooten
Owasso is almost guaranteed the third place spot. As a former national finalist that consistently place in the top-half at St. Louis, the band is in a category above most of the other bands attending.

The remaining spots in the top-half are up for grabs by a variety of returning finalists. Bixby, Grain Valley, and Jenks were all in the top-half of finals at last year’s Renegade Review ,in addition to earning finalist positions last year in St. Louis. While the three bands maintained their order from RR finals to St. Louis finals, the gaps between them also remained very small, giving any group the opportunity to pull ahead this year.

Kickapoo and Poteet are two other returning finalists that will be looking to break into the top-half. Kickapoo gave an impressive performance at the Broken Arrow Invitational this past weekend, but with so many outstanding groups in attendance, earning a top-half spot will be a very difficult feat. We expect to see Bentonville fighting alongside these two groups for a top-half spot in finals. Bentonville is a former super regional finalist and national semifinalist who found themselves just barely outside of finals last year at St. Louis.

Blue Valley and Choctaw are in the best position to earn one of the few remaining finalist positions. Both groups are returning finalists. Our pick for the last spot is Nixa, who placed just one spot out of finals last year. With the right performance, they could move up just one spot to earn a position in finals.

1. Blue Springs H.S., MO
2. LD Bell H.S., TX
3. Owasso H.S., OK
4. Grain Valley H.S., MO
5. Bixby H.S., OK
6. Kickapoo H.S., MO
7. Jenks H.S., OK
8. Poteet H.S., TX
9. Bentonville H.S., AR
10. Blue Valley H.S., KS
11. Choctaw H.S., OK
12. Nixa H.S., MO

Adjudication Panel
Music: George Boulden, Chip Crotts, Wayne Dillon, and Bill Watson.
Visual: Shirl Chumley, John Howell, and Phil Madden.
General Analysis: Wayne Downey.