2019 McAllen Regional

Prelims Schedule
View full prelims recap here.

Class A
1. Santa Rosa H.S., TX

Music: Santa Rosa H.S., TX
Visual: Santa Rosa H.S., TX
GE: Santa Rosa H.S., TX

Class AA
1. Pioneer H.S., TX
2. Sharyland H.S., TX
3. Hidalgo H.S., TX

Music: Rio Grande City H.S., TX
Visual: Pioneer H.S., TX
GE: Pioneer H.S., TX

Class AAA
1. Roma H.S., TX
2. Birdville H.S., TX
3. Mission H.S., TX

Music: Roma H.S., TX
Visual: Roma H.S., TX
GE: Roma H.S., TX

Class AAAA
1. John B. Alexander H.S., TX
2. Winston Churchill H.S., TX
3. McNeil H.S., TX

Music: McNeil H.S., TX
Visual: Winston Churchill H.S., TX
GE: John B. Alexander H.S., TX

Finals Results
View full finals recap here.

1. (77.10) John B. Alexander H.S., TX
2. (76.10) Roma H.S., TX
3. (76.10) Winston Churchill H.S., TX
4. (73.80) Pioneer H.S., TX
5. (72.95) McNeil H.S., TX
6. (72.10) Birdville H.S., TX
7. (72.00) Sharyland H.S., TX
8. (71.05) Del Rio H.S., TX
9. (69.80) Mission H.S., TX
10. (69.50) United H.S., TX

Music: John B. Alexander H.S., TX
and Roma H.S., TX
Visual: Winston Churchill H.S., TX
GE: John B. Alexander H.S., TX

Returning 2018 Finalists (7)
3. John B. Alexander H.S., TX
4. San Benito H.S., TX
5. Brazoswood H.S., TX
6. United H.S., TX
7. Roma H.S., TX
8. Hidalgo H.S., TX
9. Pioneer H.S., TX

Previous Champions
2018: Claudia T. Johnson H.S., TX
2017: Dripping Springs H.S., TX
2016: James Bowie H.S., TX
2015: Claudia T. Johnson H.S., TX

States Represented (1)

The 2019 McAllen Regional will be held Sept. 21 at Veterans Memorial Stadium in McAllen, Texas. Claudia Taylor Johnson earned a decisive victory last season.

Brief Preview
John B. Alexander performs in prelims at the San Antonio Super Regional on Nov. 2, 2018, at the Alamodome. // Photo by Jeremiah Wooten
Update: Brazoswood has withdrawn from the competition due to inclement weather in Houston.

This regional has typically been won by an outsider. For the past four years, groups from San Antonio and Austin have traveled all the way south to McAllen and walked away with the gold medal. But this year's lineup looks like we could have our champion, and perhaps even all three medalists from cities south of San Antonio. Brazoswood, John B. Alexander, San Benito, and United are a few of the groups that could walk away with a title.

Beyond medalists, Del Rio, Hidalgo, Pioneer, and Roma will be in the running for finalist spots along with former national finalist Winston Churchill. Despite some significant staff changes at Churchill heading into the season, we still expect them to be competitive here in McAllen.

Medalist Predictions
1. John B. Alexander H.S., TX
2. San Benito H.S., TX
3. Winston Churchill H.S., TX

Adjudication Panel
Music: Joel Denton, Randy Greenwell, Kevin McNulty, and David Morrison.
Visual: Chris Moss, Juno Orefice, and Lindsey Vento.
Chief: Albert Lo.


  1. I think it's official that Claude ain't coming to this one, right?

    1. Their name is on the list, why wouldn't they go?

    2. It's all but official. MFA's website has not yet been updated to remove them.