2018 Indianapolis Super Regional

Prelims Results

(View full prelims recap here)

Class A
1. Western H.S., IN
2. Edgewood H.S., IN
3. Lewis Cass H.S., IN

Music: Western H.S., IN
Visual: Western H.S., IN
GE: Edgewood H.S., IN

Class AA
1. Greenwood H.S., IN
2. Fort Zumwalt North H.S., MO
3. Greenfield Central H.S., IN

Music: Fort Zumwalt North H.S., MO
Visual: Fort Zumwalt North H.S., MO
GE: Greenwood H.S., IN

Class AAA
1. Homestead H.S., IN
2. Castle H.S., IN
3. Plainfield H.S., IN

Music: Castle H.S., IN
Visual: Homestead H.S., IN
GE: Homestead H.S., IN

Class AAAA
1. Carmel H.S., IN
2. Avon H.S., IN
3. Blue Springs H.S., MO

Music: Carmel H.S., IN
Visual: Blue Springs H.S., MO
GE: Carmel H.S., IN

Finals Results

(View full finals recap here)

1. (91.00) Carmel H.S., IN
2. (90.15) Avon H.S., IN
3. (87.75) Blue Springs H.S., MO
4. (85.80) Homestead H.S., IN
5. (85.35) Union H.S., OK
6. (84.30) Lawrence Township, IN
7. (83.75) Fishers H.S., IN
8. (83.20) Castle H.S., IN
9. (82.95) Rosemount H.S., MN
10. (82.55) Center Grove H.S., IN
11. (81.10) Brownsburg H.S., IN
12. (81.10) Centerville H.S., OH
13. (80.15) Lakota East H.S., OH
14. (79.95) Plainfield H.S., IN

Music: Carmel H.S., IN
Visual: Carmel H.S., IN
GE: Carmel H.S., IN

Returning 2017 Finalists (11)
1. Carmel H.S., IN
2. Avon H.S., IN
3. Castle H.S., IN
4. Union H.S., OK
5. Homestead H.S., IN
7. Centerville H.S., OH
8. Center Grove H.S., IN
9. Rosemount H.S., MN
10. Lakota East H.S., OH
11. Lawrence Township, IN
12. Fishers H.S., IN

Previous Champions:
2017: Carmel H.S., IN
2016: Avon H.S., IN
2015: Avon H.S., IN
2014: Avon H.S., IN
2013: Carmel H.S., IN
2012: Avon H.S., IN
2011: Avon H.S., IN

States Represented (9)
Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Texas.

The 2018 Indianapolis Super Regional will be held Oct. 19–20 at Lucas Oil Stadium. In 2017, Carmel reclaimed the title of super regional champion just a few weeks before being named grand national champion.

Our Thoughts
We are in full swing as we enter week 5 of the Bands of America season. Shows are taking shape with multiple performances under their belt. And now the hype builds for the first super regional of the year. We head to the marching arts capital of the world, Indianapolis, and Lucas Oil Stadium, a venue that has now become synonymous with the marching arts by hosting BOA Grand Nationals, DCI World Championships, and ISSMA State Finals.

Carmel performs at the Oxford Regional on Sept. 22, 2018, at Miami University's Yager Stadium. // Photo by Jeremiah Wooten
There has been a lot of build up going into 2018 as the Avon/Carmel rivalry intensifies. These two schools have become the two powerhouse bands not only in Indiana, but at this super regional and at Grand Nationals. Looking back at past results it is pretty impressive as Avon and Carmel have been the top two bands the past nine years. Avon claiming seven titles in the last 10 years, Carmel two titles in 10 years, and Lawrence Central (now the Marching Pride of Lawrence Township) winning a single title in 2008 with their amazing show, ‘Echosphere’. But if you dig even deeper, Carmel’s success goes even farther back. The Marching Greyhounds have placed in the top three since 1999.

Now this super regional is filled with past national champions, national finalists, talented bands, and groups that have made strides since last year. We have 11 of the 14 finalists from last year with Marian Catholic, Blue Springs South, and Lincoln-Way opting to compete at the St. Louis Super Regional instead this year.

This leaves the door open for a few bands to make the jump and become super regional finalists. But first we have quite a few successful groups returning. After a rather slow start, in comparison to most years, Castle and Union look to build off their 2017 placements at Grand Nationals and their lower-than-expected placements at regionals in Clarksville, Tennessee, and Bedford, Texas, earlier this season. We expect to see them in finals yet again this year in Indy as their shows continue to grow and impress the judges. Also, looking over in Ohio we have Centerville and Lakota East gaining momentum as they head to Indy. Both groups have proven to be Indy Super finalist contenders again this year.

We have a handful of bands making their first BOA appearance of the season. Some groups that you want to mark down on your “must-watch” list include: Homestead, Center Grove, Fishers, Ben Davis, Lawrence Township, Penn, and Carroll. Phew… and those are only the Indiana bands! After a competitive set of ISSMA regional competitions last weekend, these bands are ready to go head-to-head yet again.

Blue Springs performs at the Grand National Championships on Nov. 11, 2017, at Lucas Oil Stadium. // Photo by Jeremiah Wooten
Still more bands are making the trek to Indianapolis from many hours away. We have national finalist Blue Springs from Missouri; consistent super regional finalist Rosemount and Eden Prairie from Minnesota; Trinity and Richland all the way from Texas; Lockport Township from Illinois; and many other bands from South Dakota, Kentucky, and Ohio.

Now don’t think that this is all about the big bands, because let me tell you that there will be a battle going on in the A and AA classes as well.

Since Marian Catholic is going to the St. Louis Super Regional there is a clear path for any band in class AA to earn a class championship, and with that an exhibition during the night show. All signs are pointing towards Greenwood Community as they have a stellar show based off the comedic actor Charlie Chaplin. But don’t count out last year’s St. Louis finalist Rockwood Summit or groups like Beech Grove and Western who will contend with Greenwood.

Next, we have the battle for class A. The past 4 years we have seen four different champion in this class, but who will take this competitive class championship home this year? It’s going to be close with Forest Park and Edgewood gunning for that title and finals exhibition performance Saturday night.

New to super regionals in 2018 is a new format on how Finalists are determined. In past years, it was the top 14 overall from both days, with a single panel of judges adjudicating all 60+ bands. Now, we have two separate panels of judges that alternate each block — as noted on the right side of this page. For finals, they will now take the top five bands from panel 1 and the top five bands from panel two, giving us 10 bands. Then bands with the next four highest scores overall will advance to round out the 14 bands in finals. Finals performance order will still be determined by a top half/bottom half random draw regardless of panel. While the number of finalists doesn’t change, the process of who advances to finals is different. And since it’s the first year of this new system, we aren’t really sure how it might affect who advances.

1. Carmel H.S., IN
2. Avon H.S., IN
3. Blue Springs H.S., MO
4. Homestead H.S., IN
5. Castle H.S., IN
6. Center Grove H.S., IN
7. Rosemount H.S., MN
8. Union H.S., OK
9. Centerville H.S., OH
10. Fishers H.S., IN
11. Lakota East H.S., OH
12. Carroll H.S., IN
13. Brownsburg H.S., IN
14. Plainfield H.S., IN

Adjudication Panel
Music: Jay Kennedy, Allan Kristensen, Mike Leitzke, Paul McGarr, Steve Page, John Phillips, Jodie Rhodes, and Jeremy Spicer.
Visual: Kim Corney Kuhn, Ken Giese, Juno Orefice, Neal Smith, Robert Solomon, and Bob Thomas.
Chief: Gary Markham.